

## InterPore Foundation for Porous Media Science and Technology

# 2021 Annual Report

#### Letter from the Directors

The COVID-19 epidemic is still ongoing in 2021 and we hope you and your family have not been affected too much. The InterPore Foundation completed its 5<sup>th</sup> year after forming in 2016 as a non-profit, non-governmental, independent organization, further extended its operations within its mission. The Foundation continues to make grants and we are not affected by the outbreak.

The main operational activity was to finance awards for excellence and diversity in the broad field of porous media and for honoring distinguished talented researchers and lecturers. Activities in 2021 were:

- Financing Grants for the 2021 InterPore Annual Meeting
- InterPore Time Capsule
- InterPore Meritorious Service Medal
- InterPore National Chapter Award
- Honorary Lifetime Membership Award
- InterPore PoreLab Award for Young Researchers
- InterPore Kimberly-Clark Distinguished Lectureship in Porous Media Science & Technology
- Rien van Genuchten Early-Career Award of Porous Media for a Green World
- InterPore Medal for Porous Media Research
- InterPore Award for Porous Media Research
- MDPI Energies Student Poster Award

Overall, we've had a successful 2021 and are looking forward to an even better 2022 to increase our activities to support porous media research and outreach around the world, as well as having the honor to finance awards. We hope you'll join us on the journey!

With best regards,

The InterPore Foundation Directors



#### Awards Granted in 2021

• InterPore Time Capsule

Ghislain de Marsily

• InterPore Meritorious Service Medal

Oleg Iliev

• InterPore National Chapter Award

Brazilian and Chinese Chapter

• Honorary Lifetime Membership Award

Brian Berkowitz

• Kimberly-Clark Distinguished Lectureship Award

Jacques M. Huyghe

InterPore Medal for Porous Media Research

Marco Dentz

• InterPore Award for Porous Media Research

Hadi Hajibeygi

• InterPore – PoreLab Award for Young Researchers

Maja Ruecker

Rien van Genuchten Early-Career Award of Porous Media for a Green World

Kleber Marques Lisboa

MDPI Energies Student Poster Award

Pedro Pampillón – Universidad Politechnica de Madrid, Spain

Maxime van der Heijden – Technical University of Eindhoven, the Netherlands



### 2021 Financial Report

2021			
	BALANCE 31.12.2020	31 349.42	EUR
	TOTAL INCOME	12 532.61	EUR
	TOTAL SPENDING	-12 976.50	EUR
	BALANCE 31.12.2021	30 905.53	EUR
	INCOME		
	Donations from InterPore	2170.00	EUR
	Donations Others	10362.61	EUR
	PayPal	0.00	EUR
	Stripe.Com	0.00	EUR
	SPENDING		
	Bank Charges	-196,50	EUR
	Awards	-8 000.00	EUR
	Conference & short course grants	-4780.00	EUR

Spending was higher in 2021 than receipts due to timing of additions and withdrawals. The Foundation strives to disburse funds as needed for awards and other activities, while also maintaining a small positive balance to ensure funds availability as payments are needed. The travelling expenses for the Kimberly Clark lecturers have been highly reduced due to the pandemics and the amounts allocated by Kimberly Clark have been saved for the next KC lecturers.



### **Donors and Sponsors**

A number of institutions have generously supported the Foundation in 2021 and we would like to thank them for helping to promote and sustain Porous Media research!



InterPore Society for Porous Media



Kimberly-Clark Corporation



PoreLab



**MDPI** Energies



### Volunteers

#### Board of Directors:

- Steffen Berg, Chair, Shell Global Solutions International B.V., Amsterdam, The Netherlands
- Peter Elliker, Vice Chair, Kimberly-Clark, USA
- Azita Ahmadi, Treasurer, Arts et Metiers Institute of Technology Bordeaux, France
- Noushine Shahidzadeh, Communications Office, Amsterdam University, The Netherlands
- Andrea Peri, Communications Officer, Procter & Gamble, USA
- Yongfei Yang, Secretary, China University of Petroleum (East China), China
- Afshin Goharzadeh, Fundraising Officer, Khalifa University, UAE

### Committees and Members:

- Karolin Weber, InterPore Executive Officer
- Amy Spang, InterPore Secretary
- Kristy Lutz, Support Finances