

InterPore Foundation for Porous Media Science and Technology

2020 Annual Report

Letter from the Directors

During 2020 the InterPore Foundation for Porous Media Science and Technology, which was formed in 2016 as a non-profit, non-governmental, independent organization, further extended its operations within its mission.

The Foundation completed its 4th year which also implied a renewal of the board of directors' appointment during which one director (Majid Hassanizadeh) stepped down and two new directors joined the board: Yongfei Yang from China University of Petroleum (East China) in Qingdao and Afshin Goharzadeh from Khalifa University (United Arab Emirates).

The main operational activity was to finance awards for excellence and diversity in the broad field of porous media and for honoring distinguished talented researchers and lecturers.

Already established activities from previous years were:

- Financing Grants for the 2020 InterPore Annual Meeting
- Procter & Gamble Award for Porous Media Research
- Honorary Lifetime Membership Award
- InterPore PoreLab Award for Young Researchers
- InterPore Kimberly-Clark Distinguished Lectureship in Porous Media Science & Technology.

New awards financed by the InterPore Foundation were:

- Rien van Genuchten Early-Career Award of Porous Media for a Green World which was endowed with 6000 Euros by a private donation for 1500 Euros per award over a period of 4 years
- InterPore Medal for Porous Media Research given to mid-career researchers in recognition
 of outstanding research in general porous media, with emphasis on research conducted
 over the past five years.

Overall, we've had a successful 2020 and are looking forward to an even better 2021 to increase our activities to support porous media research and outreach around the world, as well as having the honor to finance awards. We hope you'll join us on the journey!

With best regards,

The InterPore Foundation Directors



Awards Granted in 2020

- Procter & Gamble Award for Porous Media Research
 - Amir Roof, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
- PoreLab Award for Young Researchers
 - Hamad Aslannejad, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
- Kimberly Clark Distinguished Lectureship Award
 - Veerle Cnudde, Ghent University, Belgium
- InterPore Honorary Lifetime Membership Award
 - Harry Vereecken, Forschungszentrum Jülich IBG-3, Germany
- InterPore Medal for Excellence in Porous Media Research 2020
 - Tanguy LeBorgne, Université de Rennes 1, France
- Rien van Genuchten Early-Career Award of Porous Media for a Green World
 - Basant Yadav, Indian Institute of Technology, India



2020 Financial Report

2020			
	BALANCE 31.12.2019	5896.70	EUR
	TOTAL INCOME	37569.51	EUR
	TOTAL SPENDING	-12116.79	EUR
	BALANCE 31.12.2020	31349.42	EUR
	INCOME		
	Donations from InterPore	2000.00	EUR
	Donations Others	35569.51	EUR
	SPENDING		
	Bank Charges	-177.40	EUR
	Awards	-11938.70	EUR



Donors and Sponsors

A number of institutions have generously supported the Foundation in 2020 and we would like to thank them for helping to promote and sustain Porous Media research!



InterPore Society for Porous Media



Kimberly-Clark Corporation



PoreLab



Procter & Gamble



Volunteers

Board of Directors:

- Steffen Berg, Chair, Shell Global Solutions International B.V., Amsterdam, The Netherlands
- Peter Elliker, Vice Chair, Kimberly-Clark
- Azita Ahmadi, Treasurer, Arts et Metiers Institute of Technology Bordeaux
- S. Majid Hassanizadeh, Secretary, Utrecht University (through 2020)
- Noushine Shahidzadeh, Communications Officer, Amsterdam University
- Andrea Peri, Communications Officer, Procter & Gamble
- Yongfei Yang, Secretary, China University of Petroleum (East China) (since Dec 2020)
- Afshin Goharzadeh, Fundraising Officer, Khalifa University (since Dec 2020)

Committees and Members

- Karolin Weber, InterPore Executive Officer
- Amy Spang, InterPore Secretary
- Kristy Lutz, InterPore Treasurer Assistant